Preservation Month


In recognition of the shared local commitment to preserve Madison's historic resources, the Historic Preservation Commission presents annual awards at the Ice Cream Social.

Preservation Partner Awards are all about action, perhaps the "Do as I Do" awards. Awards are distributed to recognize individuals, families, and/or organizations which exemplify the ideals of stewardship, leadership, and initiative. Past recipients.
Preservation Excellence Awards are about recognition for a project well done. Awards are distributed to businesses, property owners, contractors, and/or organizations for projects which are not just passing grades but true grade "A"s.

2022 Preservation Awards

Mr. & Mrs. Floyd D. Newton Award
Outstanding Preservation Stewardship

Partner Award named by the
Historic Preservation Commission

This award recognizes a thorough and continuous commitment to protecting and maintaining a historic asset in Madison.

Presented to The Baldwin Family  for their continued preservation of the Crawford F. Barnett House at 640 Dixie Avenue.

The Crawford F. Barnett House

Dr. Josephine Brandon
 - Carrol Hart Award
Outstanding Preservation Leadership

Partner Award named by the
Morgan County Landmarks Society

This award recognizes a community leader whose contributions have insured the endurance of Madison’s architectural heritage.  

Presented to Joseph Smith for his years of service on the Historic Preservation Commission and his dedication to historic preservation in Madison.

Joseph Smith receiving the Preservation Leadership Award

Col. Dan & Hattie Mina Hicky Award
Outstanding Preservation Intervention
Partner Award named by the
Morgan County Historical Society

This award recognizes those extraordinary efforts without which Madison may have lost an important historic resource.

Presented to the The Madison-Morgan Conservancy for the rehabilitation of the Richter Cotton Seed House at 137 S. First Street.

The Richter Cotton Seed House.

Outstanding Residential Restoration
Preservation Excellence Award

Presented to Chance Bridge & Kyndal Newberry in recognition of the restoration of the front entrance of the Jarboe House at 577 S. Main Street.

The Jarboe House

Outstanding Commercial Rehabilitation
Preservation Excellence Award

Presented to Preston Snyder in recognition of the rehabilitation of the L.M. Thompson Building at 140 E. Washington Street.

The L.M. Thompson Building

Ice Cream Social
In celebration of National Preservation Month, each May the Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) invites the community preservation network - organizations, leaders, and supporters - to an Ice Cream Social. HPC Staff makes 40 quarts of homemade ice cream, and the Commission dips up sweetness, serves lemonade, and meets and greets.

Our Preservation Community Network
Historic Madison-Morgan Foundation
Madison Cemetery Stewardship Commission
Madison City Council
Madison Historic Preservation Commission
Madison-Morgan Conservancy
Madison Morgan Cultural Center
Morgan County African-American Museum
Morgan County Historical Society
Morgan County Landmarks Society
Morgan County Resource Preservation Advisory Board